strong-people

An empty box of kleenex, a half used roll of tissue, on the sofa in the lounge room and underneath the big brown comforter lays me, sniffing with swollen eyes, head’s banging, sore throat plus high temp, my oversize sweater and head warmer color riots with that of the comforter. Netflix is on playing movies after movies that I’m not watching, I’m home alone and I like the sound from the TV the voices are more like companions.

I am a sorry sight because the flu got me. Just the flu…nothing else. My mind drifts to my hospital visits seeing sick patients like cancer patients, kids, teens, youth and adults confined there not knowing if they’ll be cured, when they’re getting out or what tomorrow holds and some are home living their last days knowing at anytime their light of life will be switched off.

How does It feel? Only their families can tell.

In few days the flu would leave me and I’ll be stronger on my feet. Deep inside I know I’m not feeling a quarter of the pain that have become a part of them. Its sad that these people have to suffer. I hail them because they’re strong, they’re the real MVP s and they inspire In the sense that even in face of death and the unknown majority still have big smiles plastered on their faces and high hopes for tomorrow.

Who am I to complain.

Leave a comment