Skin Bleaching; The New Beauty Trend In Africa

 

Nkyhor Paul

“The misconception of blue black beauty continue! We don’t own our beauty as black women, most of us are running around covering up our assets (face) with dead hair or bleaching our skin to orange all in the name of western beauty. They can’t handle it therefore we have to show them our beauty from our perspective. You are beautiful as you are”

There are words that goes through one ear and out of the other, some fly past your eyes like dried leaves floating with the wind and other words such as the ones in quote by Nkyhor Paul (South Sudanese model) bite into your skin and sink deep.

Advertised Russian, Arab brightening creams

 

I couldn’t have been more happier to come across it and also use it as my basis to address this issue that’s been boggling my mind for sometime now.

Few years ago I reconnected with a childhood friend I’d lost contact with at a party In Lagos Nigeria, before the Ohs M Gs and hugs it took about five minutes of introduction and descriptions to recognise her because the color block had transform my friend completely from ebony to yellow orange and traces of her beautiful dark skin had been replaced with red and green.

By the way and roadside, that’s just one of thousands of known combined with glaring examples which backs up the fact that the rate at which my Nigerian sisters are transiting from their beautiful colors to orange yellow is becoming quite alarming. Its the latest trend in town and every business oriented/beauty enthusiast individual seems to be advertising and selling skin brightening creams, soaps and capsules. If you need to see to believe then sign into your Instagram and Facebook page, also read World Health Organisation report which states that “Nigerians are the highest users of such products” followed by Togo, South Africa and Mali.

Skin enhancement capsules

 

Bhet why? Is the question I ask myself. So In search of answers I conducted a little research on both social media platforms. The result, compared to dark skin ladies the fair (bleached) ones are more popular and you know being popular comes with having more followers and friends, they get more likes/comments, attract more men, also constant picture posts showcasing their new skin unlike their solemn darker shade days hints boost in self esteem. Hence primarily the reason why people trend on the bleaching line is self loathing, low self esteem and to conform to the norm

What beats me most is the so called popular role models who are meant to lead positively by example are slaves to this trend! Tell me why their onlookers won’t follow their foot prints.

Having lighter skin and looking unnatural no doubt is the new definition of beauty in Africa while being black makes you ordinary and places you behind in the shadow.

So it seems.
I’m not sorry to say our society are huge contributors to this notion.

Every shade  of black is beautiful

 

Iman and Alek getting their jukes on

Every time I go out I see people of different shades of color and sizes, left and right I see beautiful women – that’s the essence of humanity..variety…like fruits don’t look or taste the same no two person are created or evolve the same even identical twins have different personalities. I’m not a judge passing judgement here I just wish my African sisters would appreciate their color more and learn to love themselves and embrace their being as they are. I strongly believe a healthy life, clean appearance shines your beauty. Lupita Nyong’O, Alek Wek, Iman, Nkyhor Paul, Naomi Campbell are genuine women of substance who have shown the world beauty from their own perspectives and are accepted for who they are also celebrated for what they represent. The African Beauty.

Its time for Africans to rise above the chains of western appearance as depiction of total beauty. Black Blue Brown is truly BEAUTIFUL, Black isn’t dirty and isn’t meant to be shed! Embrace difference.

Leave a comment